I Made My Husband Go Blind and it Wasn’t Soap Poisoning

Look at what Gerhard gave to me:

_DSC4199-small

Awww!  A piece of packing foam.  What a sweetie he is.  I’ll bet you wish your friends gave you pieces of packing foam.

Why, you ask, would he give me packing foam?

Ah, good question.  He gave it to me to use on my flash for my camera.  If you cover the top of the flash with the packing foam (use a pony tail holder to wrap it around the flash), it will soften the harshness of the flash.

I decided to test it out.

I warned Darling Husband, “I’m going to take a couple of pictures of you with the flash to test out this packing foam.  The first one won’t have the foam on it.”

The part about the flash not having the foam on it wasn’t entirely true.  The foam was on the flash, but flopping off and not covering the flash part.  Darling husband looked up, saw the strip of packing foam dangling off the flash, said, “What is that?” as he stared directly at the flash at the exact moment that I snapped the picture.

_DSC4190-small

“Aaahhh!  My eyes!  What did you do?”

Eh, he’ll be alright.

I covered the top of the flash with the packing foam to compare while Darling Husband recovered:

_DSC4191-small

Much nicer, except for the fact that I never noticed how blue Darling Husband is.  Why is he so blue?  What did he eat for dinner?

Oh wait.  He’s blue because I didn’t set the white balance to flash.  Let’s try the experiment again with the correct setting and without the packing foam.

_DSC4193-small

That looks really bad.  Now, we add the packing foam.

_DSC4192-small

Much nicer!  What a handsome man!  It’s a darn good thing that Darling Husband thinks I’m cute when I “talk photography.”

One thought on “I Made My Husband Go Blind and it Wasn’t Soap Poisoning

Oo! A comment!

