Hobbits, Wolves, and Microwave Ovens

We finally went to see The Hobbit today.  Finally!  We couldn’t go last Friday, like I’d originally told you, due to some nonsense about having a child with pneumonia and a Darling Husband with a monster headache and the only theater available after the party was tne that gives me headaches.

It was opening night and Darling Husband was going to surprise me by taking me to the movie but spilled the beans early.  I’m glad he did, because when I asked him, “So, you pre-bought the tickets, right? ” his response was, “Uh…” If you’ll remember, Darling Husband hates going to the movies, so he doesn’t understand about pre-buying tickets for opening night showings for hugely popular films.

Darling Husband likes movies well enough, he just hates to sit in theaters.  They don’t let you check the weather reports, surf the internet, or iron your clothes in the theater.  So, the only movies he’s seen in a theater in the past decade have been:

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings.

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

(seeing a trend?)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

The Day After Tomorrow

The Hobbit

That’s almost one movie a year.  Well, what do you know?  I guess he goes more often than I’d realized.

Incidentally, The Day After Tomorrow was hilarious.  Best comedy of the year.  There were people from Mexico in the theater sitting behind us.  During the scene where the Americans were frantically splashing through the river to cross the border into the safety of Mexico they were laughing until they couldn’t breathe.

Darling Husband laughed through the whole movie, too.  I think the feral escaped-from-the-zoo wolves who ended up on the Russian ship, which just happened to end up encased in ice next to the New York City Public Library where the only supply of medicine was for the main character’s girlfriend, who happened to have cut her leg while rescuing a child who was stuck in her seatbelt, but the wound was now infected…wow.  I can’t even follow that and I’m the one typing it.  I’m really not sure how to end that sentence.  All I know is that the plot was so over the top that it had to have been a comedy, right?

I’m pleased to report that Darling Husband loved The Hobbit.  There were some differences from the book, but not enough to make me have to endure any why’d-they-have-to-change-that rants.

Unfortunately, I was so busy singing along to the Christmas Carols they were playing before the movie started that I forgot to get a picture of Darling Husband in the theater.  I didn’t remember until after the 2 hour and 50 minute movie was done, and Darling Husband couldn’t sit still for another second.  It’s a bad picture, but proof he was there.

_DSC1610

When we got home, I was using the microwave when it started making funny noises.  So…. in the last 6 weeks we’ve had to buy a new roof, car, dishweasher, braces (well–we have to pay for them in January), my iPad (bought before we knew all this was coming), the $1000 in van repairs, x-ray out of pocket costs (pneumonia—remember?), Christmas, Birthday Party…and now a microwave.

AHHHHH!  This is why we have 6 months of living expenses saved up.  Well, we used to have 6 months of living expenses saved up…

While I made cookies with the boys, Darling Husband went out to get a new microwave.  Darling Husband reported back to me that the guy at Sears asked him, “Do you need a gift receipt?”  Darling Husband said, “No!  Of course not!  I know better than to buy a kitchen appliance for a Christmas Gift!  Gift receipt, indeed—snort!”

DARLING HUSBAND THIS IS WHERE YOU’RE SUPPOSED TO STOP READING!!!!

REALLY!!  STOP READING!!!!!

HEY, LOOK!  WE MIGHT GET SNOW ON CHRISTMAS–STOP READING AND CHECK THE GFS!!!  QUICK!!!

Um…kitchen appliances are bad Christmas gifts?  Uh oh.  I might need to return the gift I bought for Darling Husband.  (insert uneasy smile here.)

Picture of the Day:

_DSC1620-small

Edited to Add:  Oh, never mind about Darling Husband and movies!  Per the comments, he goes to the movies all the time.  Who knew!?

7 thoughts on “Hobbits, Wolves, and Microwave Ovens

  1. Oh wait! What’s that one in 3D with the blue people and the mean evil big corporation who hates trees and stuff and they had to hook up to a computer game or something? We saw that one in the theater too!

Oo! A comment!

