Defatted Peanuts and I Could Have Sworn There Was Chocolate In There

Major revelation today!

Major!

The type of revelation that rocks your world.  That makes you question everything you ever thought you knew.

It’s days like this that make you wonder what rock you’ve been living under, and force you to face the fact that you’re not the brightest bulb in the pack.

I just found out today that…..

…..there is no chocolate in Reeces Pieces!

I’ve lived almost forty years thinking there was chocolate in Reeces Pieces!

No, let me amend that.  No one ever ate Reeces Pieces until E.T. came out.  I certainly didn’t.  The orange and yellow box was ugly and I didn’t want to eat ugly candy.  But if E.T. ate them, then, by gum, I was going to eat them, too!  (Kids are dumb and easily manipulated by marketing.)

I was nine years old when E.T. came out and I’m thirty-nine now, so…..

I’ve lived for thirty years thinking there was chocolate in Reeces Pieces!

I’m not sure why I thought that.  It’s not like there was any false advertising going on.  The box clearly states, “Peanut Butter Candy in a Crunchy Shell.”

It’s not like you can taste any chocolate in them, either.  I guess I got carried away with Reeces Peanut Butter Cups, which do have chocolate, and made broad assumptions about Reeces Pieces.

And yes, I read the ingredient list just to be sure.  And now I’m wondering if the second ingredient on the list has always read “Partially Defatted Peanuts.”

Partially Defatted Peanuts?  What?  I’m a little nervous about eating something that has Partially Defatted Peanuts.  If I’m going to eat peanuts, I want all the fat!  Isn’t the fat in peanuts good for you?  (Yes!)  So why would they defat it?

Partially Defatted Peanuts sounds like something someone made up to soothe a hysterical person:  “No, no, dear!  There’s no fat in this candy.  It’s ok to eat it.  We…uh…defatted it!  Yes, that’s it!  We defatted it.  Well, most of it anyway.  We, er, partially defatted it.”

Defatted is not a word. Eating food with made up words makes me feel like a mouse sniffing at the cheese on the unsprung trap.  Partially defatted peanuts…are they worth the risk?  SNAP!

Maybe I’ll just stick with popcorn for my snacks.  Especially since I never got around to eating it last night.

2 thoughts on “Defatted Peanuts and I Could Have Sworn There Was Chocolate In There

Oo! A comment!

