Dessert in Gettysburg and Pineapples are Intimidating

Short post, just to fulfill my “Picture of the Day” commitment.

Why the short post?  Because I have overnight guests in the house.

Guests who wanted to go out for dessert, specifically ice cream.  When I said, “McDonalds is just around the corner,” my guests got very upset.  “McDonalds?!  We want to go to a touristy restaurant in Gettysburg!”  My guests are from out of town.

Okey-dokey.  Back for dessert at the the Lincoln Diner.  Wasn’t I just there last week?

I’ve been trying to eat healthier lately (well, yesterday and today anyway…) and doing my best to lay off the sugary snacks.  See the picture of the pineapple? It’s the first real pineapple I’ve ever bought.  I had to call Barbetta and ask her how to cut it.  Why Barbetta?  Because she’s the only person whose phone number I have memorized.

So, while everyone else got chocolate ice cream and tiramusu…

…I got the Italian Wedding Soup.  The soup was positively divine and I’m glad I didn’t cave and get a dessert.

5 thoughts on “Dessert in Gettysburg and Pineapples are Intimidating

  1. You know how to combine the pineapple and your diet and dessert? Put the pineapple on your grill. The natural sugars caramelize and are super yummy. also good with apples, peaches, and pears. If you want a little more sweet add a tiny drizzle of honey…mmmm

Oo! A comment!

