Computer Games on a Thursday Afternoon

We’re homeschoolers.

In this picture it’s 2:00 in the afternoon on a Thursday and The Boy is playing games on the computer in his pajamas.

It’s not as bad as it sounds.  First of all, the number one reason that people homeschool is so that their children can wear pajamas all day long.  So right away you can tell from the picture that we’re doing a good job homeschooling.

Second of all, it’s educational.  It’s a free online math game called Timez Attack.  It’s good for helping kids remember their times tables and it provides a golden opportunity to amuse the children with a rant about “how can kids learn how to spell when things marketed to kids are spelled wrong?!”

We don’t normally play computer games as part of school, but The Boy’s pencil went flying across the room today during his math lesson.  That’s a little clue that he’s too frustrated to learn for the next few minutes.  To calm him down, I let him play a game.  I’m not sure why he hasn’t caught on to the fact that it’s not really a game.  It’s just a glorified flash card.  (See the picture—to fight the creature you have to answer the math facts.)

Are you wondering why we homeschool?  I read someone’s blog and her answer to the ‘why do you homeschool’ question is, “Because I want to.”  I like that answer and I’m going to use it from now on.  I homeschool because I want to.

If I told you the real reason why I homeschool it would take forever and my little fingers would get tired from all the typing.  And then there’s the danger that I would get sappy and serious.  Yes, I can get sappy and serious, but I don’t like it!

If you really want to know about homeschooling, you’ll have to ask me in person when I can see you.  That way I’ll know when to stop talking by the way you slump forward and fall out of your chair from  my endless ramblings.  Asking me about homeschooling is sort of like asking Darling Husband about the weather.  Don’t, unless you’ve cleared your schedule for the day.

Star Trek quote of the day:  I’m a doctor, not an escalator.

One thought on “Computer Games on a Thursday Afternoon

Oo! A comment!

