Television is Good for Babies

I babysat an actual baby today for the 3rd time in my life.
My first babysitting job was when I was 15 and I got the job because I was friends with the regular babysitter and the parents were desperate.  They lived in a big old Victorian home.  The father was a dentist and had a human skull (with teeth) on his desk in his home office.  It was creepy sitting in their Victorian house alone with a baby and a skull.

The second babysitting job was when I was 29, and I only agreed to it because I was 8 months pregnant and I thought the babysitting job was a ruse to get me to my own baby shower.  It wasn’t.  Rats.

Today’s job was to help out some friends who have recently moved here and have no one else to ask.  (Again, desperate parents.)

I have to ask, what did babysitters do before television?  Babysitters in the olden days were of hardier stock than I.  We have Netflix so within mere moments of Baby displaying her displeasure at the fact that Mommy and Daddy left, we had her favorite show on the screen, and she was happily glazing over.

I kinda like television.  I have fond memories of sitting with my family from  4:00 until 9:00 every night, watching tv.  My dad would talk through every show and I would finally snap about 3 hours into the viewing experience and say, “SSSHHHH!!!” and then get yelled at by my mother for my efforts, thereby missing the next few minutes of programming.  During the commercial breaks we would argue about whose turn it was to get something from the kitchen for everyone else.  And the dog would be restrained on his leash across the room, lunging toward the television, trying to bite the screen.  (Don’t ask, it’s a long story.)

We watched such gems as Macguyver, The Scarecrow and Mrs. King, and Perfect Strangers and it was good stuff!  Until I tried to rewatch them on Netflix a couple of months ago, and it was bad stuff!  Bad, bad, bad!

Well, they do say you can never go home.  Almost all of the old shows that I watched as a kid and loved have turned out to be duds now that I’m an adult.

So far the only exceptions are:

Star Trek, the original series.  And that’s only marginally.  Mostly I like it out of sentimentality and the fact that I’m doing my best to brainwash the kids into being sci-fi fans like me, so I have someone to go to sci-fi movies with when they get older.  (My husband won’t go to movies with me.  I know!  Isn’t that the saddest thing you’ve heard today?)

The Twilight Zone.  Because seriously people, nothing is better than The Twilight Zone.  The kids are watching it with their dad right now as I type this.

I Love Lucy.  That one surprised me.  Before I rewatched it a few months ago I didn’t think I’d like it.  I was wrong.  I love I Love Lucy!  It’s as funny as The Office (and that’s probably my all-time favorite show so far.)

Anyhoo…I’m posting this early today so that I can finally get around to watching some TV with my husband tonight.  We haven’t sat and watched tv together since December, and we miss it.

2 thoughts on “Television is Good for Babies

  1. I’m not a big sci-fi fan, but I do love the Office. Brian and I used to watch it all the time. That and First 48. I love that show. Brian and I talk through it with comments on what the police found or we chuckle at the street names some of these people have.

Oo! A comment!

